Rainbow Cake

I was trying to think of a creative idea for my cousin’s 5th birthday cake. I definitely wanted to do something colorful and fun for the decorations. She wanted Hello Kitty, so I thought I’d give her Hello Kitty. But for some reason, it didn’t seem like it was enough to buy a cat-shaped cake pan and pipe the familiar face. The decision I made was to make a rainbow cake. I’d seen pictures before, but it seemed like a fun yet difficult experiment I could tackle.

 

 

Image

 

Image

Here’s how you make a rainbow cake:

Ingredients:

  • 2 boxes white cake mix
  • Food coloring
  • 2 cans of diet lemon-lime soda

Make the cake:

  1. Butter or grease the cake pan and preheat the oven to the temperature it says on the box.
  2. Pour the cake mix into a large bowl, add the soda, and mix with a spoon until blended. 
  3. Separate the batter into 4 different bowls. Add the different colors to each bowl and mix until the color is even.
  4. Pour the batter into the greased pan, and bake for however long it directs on the box.

<3, B

PS, the photos haven’t been exactly quality lately. My apologies, I was not able to use an actual camera for a while. Hopefully I’ll be uploading some better quality pictures soon. x

2 thoughts on “Rainbow Cake

Leave a Reply

